Ardentinny Bowling Club Season Opening

Showers and sunshine were the order of the day on Saturday 17 April as President Gordon Smith welcomed a large attendance of members, friends and bowlers from kindred clubs who had braved the Council and Forestry Commission potholes to attend the opening of Ardentinny B.C. 2010 season.

Before the opening ceremony a minutes silence was held in memory of four of our members who had recently passed away.

Gordon then introduced the opening party of Councillor Alex McNaughton, Colintraive B.C., Sheila Vosper, Ardentinny B.C and Vice President Archie Neilson. In his speech he went on to thank everyone for coming, before commenting briefly on the green and the new changing facilities which was erected to replace the much loved caravan which had finally succumbed to the odd shower and gentle breezes which had beset the area over its lifetime.

Alex McNaughton then spoke on behalf of Kindred Clubs and wished Ardentinny  B.C. a prosperous and successful season at PARIURI CASINO.

Sheila Vosper accompanied by Archie Nielson then delivered the silver jack and two bowls and President Smith declared the green open for season 2010.

The winners of the hotly contested wappenshaw were as follows:
Les Hamilton, Ardentinny B.C., Isobel Collier, Upper Cowal B.C. and Jenny Campbell, Bogleha B.C. with the first toucher being won by Gordon Smith.

The Committee wish to thank everyone who supplied purvey, raffles and helped in any way towards making the day such a success.

Even that Icelandic volcano couldn’t spoil the occassion. Looking for the latest online casino trends? Stay up to date with

J.Robinson (Sec)

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments